Cobb County Government
100 Cherokee Street
Marietta, GA 30090
(770) 528-1000

Citizen Oversight Committee

arrow Special Called Meeting - 03/26/2012 (video)

arrow Citizens Oversight Committee Final Report (PDF)
arrow Citizens Oversight Committee Presentation 06/28/2011 (PDF)
arrow Watch Presentation 06/28/2011 (video)

The citizen oversight committee was appointed by the Cobb Board of Commissioners to review and recommend ways Cobb can function in the most efficient way. The group is charged with reviewing county finances, management structure and operations while also suggesting ways for the county to balance resident needs with available revenues.

The citizen oversight committee is comprised of 11 members with each district commissioner appointing two members and the commission chairman appointing three. The committee has divided itself into four teams.

Committee Membership    
Bob Barr Vance Booker Beverly Collins Laurie Dyke
Brett McClung Dr. Robert Plunkett James Rhoden, Jr. Ford Thigpen
Darhyl Watkins David Welden    

The committee is seeking public input and suggestions on the efficiency, operations and funding of county government. Suggestions will be directed to the appropriate team for consideration. Please select from the list below to send your comments and suggestions:

Important: All submitted comments and suggestions are sent directly to committee members. If you’re concerned with your anonymity, you are not required to provide your name or email address and you may visit a public library to submit your comment from one of the computers available there. Please do not anticipate a direct response from the committee regarding your comment. Should you desire a response, please request one and we will strive to do so. All submissions are subject to public review pursuant to Georgia's open record laws.

1. Central Support

Central Support

Central Support: Laurie Dyke, Darhyl Watkins

Board of Commissioners, Board of Health, Cobb Collaborative, Communications, County Attorney, County Clerk, County Manager, CSBG Fund, Economic Development, Elections & Registration, Finance Department, Fleet Management, Government Service Centers, Hotel/Motel Tax, Information Services, Internal Audit, Mail Services, Parking Deck Fund, Property Management, Public Services Agency, Purchasing, Records Management, Support Services Agency, Tag Office, Tax Assessor, Tax Commissioner, TV 23

2. Community Services, Infrastructure and Development

Community Services

Community Services & Infrastructure: Beverly Collins, Jim Rhoden, David Welden

Airport, Aquatics/Gymnastics, Business License, Code Enforcement, Community Development, Cultural Affairs Division
Department of Transportation, Development & Inspections, Engineering Division, Erosion & Sediment Control, Extension Service, Golf Course Fund, Library System, Parks & Recreation Department, Planning Division, Recreation Services Division, Road Maintenance, Senior Services, Solid Waste Fund, SPLOST, Stormwater Management, Street Light Program, Tennis Division, Traffic Operations, Transit, Transit Fund, Water Fund, Zoning Division

3. Court Services and Public Protection

Court Services

Court Services & Public Protection: Bob Barr, Brett McClung

800 MHz Radio Communication, Animal Control, Circuit Defender, Clerk - State Court, Clerk - Superior Court, Detention Operation, District Attorney, Drug Treatment Program, E911 Fund, Emergency Management, Fire Fund, Indigent Care, Juvenile Court, Law Library, Magistrate Court, Medical Examiner, NCGLEA, Police Department,
Probate Court, Public Safety Agency, Public Safety Training Center, Safety Village, Sheriff, Solicitor, State Court, State Court - DUI, Superior Court, Superior Court - DUI

4. Organizational Structure and HR Practices

Organizational Structure

Organizational Structure & HR Practices: Vance Booker, Robert Plunkett, Ford Thigpen

Employee Benefits Division, Employee Development Division, Employee Services Division, Employment Services Division, Human Resources